AMEA and its Members announce 2022 scholarship winners

Forty (40) high school seniors will enroll in a four-year college/university, community college, and/or vocational school in Alabama this year with help from the Alabama Municipal Electric Authority (AMEA) and its Members through the 2022 AMEA Scholarship Program.

Each of the 40 scholarship recipients will receive a $2,500 scholarship for a total of $100,000 awarded in this year’s program. AMEA received 156 scholarship applications in the 2022 program.

Since 1992, AMEA and its Members have provided over $3 million in scholarships to the graduating high school seniors who receive their electric service from AMEA Members.

To be eligible for the AMEA scholarships, a student’s family must receive electric service from an AMEA Member city electric utility and the student must attend an Alabama college/university or vocational school.

“We take our role as a good corporate citizen seriously,” said Fred D. Clark, Jr., AMEA President & CEO. “That’s why we, along with our Members, support education initiatives, like the AMEA Scholarship Program, that contribute to making our state economically competitive. We congratulate this year’s scholarship winners.”

This year’s AMEA Academic Scholarship recipients are:

Parker Reid Daughtry, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City

Taylor Dean Harris, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City

Katelyn Summer Henderson, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City

Audrey Rose Owens, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City

Callie Olivia Anderson, Providence Christian School, Dothan

Larrison Grace Everett, Providence Christian School, Dothan

Charlie Thomas Malugen, Northside Methodist Academy, Dothan

Cassidy Leigh Perry, Ridgecrest Christian School, Dothan

Brooklynn Nicole Bailey, Fairhope High School, Fairhope

Madisyn Elizabeth Eddins, Fairhope High School, Fairhope

Reese Adam Houck, Fairhope High School, Fairhope

Molly Quinn McPherson, Fairhope High School, Fairhope

Ella Lauren Caldwell, Spanish Fort High School, Riviera Utilities

Ethan Grae Ferguson, Spanish Fort High School, Riviera Utilities

Galey Patricia McKelvain, Fairhope High School, Riviera Utilities

NyAsia Shanylia Chambers, LaFayette High School, LaFayette

John Robert Ramirez, Chambers Academy, LaFayette

Mattie Lee Reese, Chambers Academy, LaFayette

Madison La’Jai Davis, Lanett High School, Lanett

Jesilyn Marie Mabrey, Springwood School, Lanett

Ethan James Plank, Springwood School, Lanett

Minseong Cha, Luverne High School, Luverne

KeeShaun Kareem Glanton, Luverne High School, Luverne

Abby Leigh Whiddon, Crenshaw Christian Academy, Luverne

Hannah Grace Blackstock, Trinity Christian School, Opelika

Georgia Lorainne Duncan, Trinity Christian School, Opelika

Kerry Louisa Nell, Trinity Christian School, Opelika

Orah Makai Preston, Opelika High School, Opelika

Emily Faith Farmer, Piedmont High School, Piedmont

Dawson Blake Morrison, Piedmont High School, Piedmont

William Perry Austin, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

Katlyn Lee Boozer, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

Emma Grace Hopkins, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

Caroline Leigh Hudgins, B.B. Comer Memorial High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

This year’s AMEA Community College, and/or Vocational/Trade School  Scholarship recipients include:

Josiah Michael Gardner, Baldwin County Virtual School, Riviera Utilities

Ariana Rene Story, LaFayette High School, LaFayette

Bobby Lee Moore, Lanett High School, Lanett

Aniyah Elese’ McGhee-Burnett, Luverne High School, Luverne

Cayla LeeAnn Parris, Piedmont High School, Piedmont

Emilee Lynn Parris, Piedmont High School, Piedmont


AMEA, a joint action agency formed in 1981, is the wholesale power provider for 11 public power utilities in Alabama, which serve approximately 350,000 customers in the cities of Alexander City, Dothan, Fairhope, Foley, LaFayette, Lanett, Luverne, Opelika, Piedmont, Sylacauga and Tuskegee.