Kelly honored with 2017 AMEA President’s Award

Sue Kelly, President and CEO, American Public Power Association (APPA), was the recipient of the Alabama Municipal Electric Authority (AMEA) 2017 President’s Award on Thursday, April 20 during the AMEA President’s Awards Dinner in Point Clear, AL. The event was held in conjunction with the 2017 AMEA Power Supply Conference, April 20 and 21.

The award honors individuals who played a key role in the formation of AMEA and is presented in recognition of their continued leadership and dedication to the organization.

“Due to Sue’s leadership and commitment to public power, AMEA has become a valued partner in Alabama’s electric utility community,” said Fred Clark, AMEA President & CEO.

Mrs. Kelly has served as President and CEO of APPA since April 2014. APPA is a trade group that represents more than 2,000 not-for-profit, community-owned electric utilities across the U.S. Prior to becoming President and CEO, Mrs. Kelly was APPA’s Senior Vice President, Policy Analysis and General Counsel. In that capacity, she helped APPA and its members with energy policy formulation and policy advocacy before the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), federal courts, and other governmental and industry policy forums.

Past recipients of the AMEA President’s Award include the late Robert D. Thorington, Clifford A. Lanier, Jr., Robert W. Claussen, H. Sewell St. John, Jr., Robert H. Young, Jr., Steven Stein, Bilee Cauley, Joe Rex Sport, Tuskegee Mayor Johnny Ford, James P. Nix and Don Clements.

AMEA, a joint action agency located in Montgomery, is the wholesale power provider for 11 public power utilities in Alabama, which serve some 350,000 customers in the cities of Alexander City, Dothan, Fairhope, Foley, LaFayette, Lanett, Luverne, Opelika, Piedmont, Sylacauga, and Tuskegee.