Clements Honored With 2016 AMEA President’s Award

Don Clements of Dothan was the recipient of the Alabama Municipal Electric Authority (AMEA) 2016 President’s Award on Thursday, April 28 during the AMEA President’s Awards Dinner in Point Clear, AL. The event was held in conjunction with the 2016 AMEA Power Supply Conference, April 28 and 29.

The award honors individuals who played a key role in the formation of AMEA and is presented in recognition of their continued leadership and dedication to the organization.

“Due to Don Clements’ hard work, Alabama Governor Fob James signed the legislation on May 18, 1981 that allowed Alabama municipal electric utilities to form the Alabama Municipal Electric Authority,” said Fred Clark, AMEA President & CEO.

Clements was seated on the AMEA Board of Directors in 1986 and served until 2006, representing the City of Dothan. He served as a City Commissioner to the City of Dothan from 1985 until 2005. Clements served as chairman of the AMEA Board of Directors from 2002 until 2006. He served as vice chairman from 1993 until 2002. He served as chairman of the AMEA Budget/Audit/Rate Committee for 12 years and served on the committee for 16 years.

Past recipients of the AMEA President’s Award include the late Robert D. Thorington, Clifford A. Lanier, Jr., Robert W. Claussen, H. Sewell St. John, Jr., Robert H. Young, Jr., Steven Stein, Bilee Cauley, Joe Rex Sport, Tuskegee Mayor Johnny Ford, and James P. Nix.

AMEA, a joint action agency located in Montgomery, is the wholesale power provider for 11 public power utilities in Alabama, which serve some 350,000 customers in the cities of Alexander City, Dothan, Fairhope, Foley, LaFayette, Lanett, Luverne, Opelika, Piedmont, Sylacauga, and Tuskegee.